Understanding Car Insurance After a New Mexico Car Accident
One of the first questions a person injured in a New Mexico car accident may ask is how is he or she going to pay for her medical expenses and vehicle damage. These expenses can quickly accumulate and grow very large very quickly. It can become very overwhelming to pay for these new bills when an injured victim may be unable to get to work.
However, every resident who drives a motor vehicle in New Mexico is required under New Mexico’s laws requiring car insurance. This is primarily how an injured victim of a New Mexico car accident will get compensation for his or her injuries and for property damage. Therefore if you or a loved one have been injured in a motor vehicle accident, contact the experienced New Mexico car accident attorneys at the Caruso Law Offices, P.C. for a FREE consultation by calling (505) 883-5000.
Understanding New Mexico’s Car Insurance Laws
There is no national standard relating to car insurance. Therefore, states can either be a “no-fault” or “fault” state. New Mexico is a “fault” state, which means that the driver held responsible for the damages caused by a car accident is required to pay for such damages. Thus, the at-fault driver’s car insurance will pay for the victim’s damages.
New Mexico law requires a minimum amount of car insurance that must be carried by every driver. This amount of insurance coverage is the following:
- $25,000 per person;
- $50,000 per accident; and
- $10,000 for property damage from an accident (i.e., car damage).
Receiving Compensation Under New Mexico Car Insurance Laws
Therefore, an accident victim may seek compensation in one of the following ways:
- File a claim with the at-fault driver’s insurance company;
- File a claim with the victim’s own insurance company, who will then seek contribution to the at-fault driver’s insurance company for reimbursement; or
- Commence a lawsuit for personal injuries and/or property damage.
After a motor vehicle accident, it will likely be overwhelming to determine what to do next. Particularly because New Mexico is an at-fault state, some victims may not understand what rights they have to get compensation. Some victims may feel they are at-fault for the accident, or partially at fault.
No matter what you may believe, always contact a New Mexico car accident attorney who has both the legal training and experience to make this determination.
Having Trouble with the Insurance Company? Contact our New Mexico Car Accident Attorneys Today!
If you or a loved one has been injured in a car accident, call the experienced New Mexico car accident attorneys at the Caruso Law Offices, P.C. today by dialing (505) 883-5000 You can also contact us on our website through the easy to use and convenient Contact box located by clicking here.